Apr 2, 2013; New York, NY, USA; Baylor Bears player Pierre Jackson (55) puts up a shot against the Brigham Young Cougars during the first half of the NIT Tournament Semi-Final at Madison Square Garden. Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Three From Big 12 Selected To Play In NABC All-Star Game

Three players from the Big 12 will participate in this year’s annual all-star game hosted by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. The game will be played Friday at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta as part of the weekend activities surrounding the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

Pierre Jackson, the leading scorer in the Big 12 this season, averaging almost 20 points per game for Baylor, and Iowa State guard Will Clyburn, the Big 12’s Newcomer of the Year, have been named to the West squad. Kansas State’s Rodney McGruder, who led the Wildcats in scoring with a  15.6  average his senior season, was named to the East squad. All three earned All-Big 12 honors this season. Clyburn averaged 14.9 points per game and seven rebounds for Iowa State this season.

Jackson’s Baylor team is playing in the National Invitation championship game against Iowa Thursday night at Madison Square Garden in New York.

The two all-star teams are made up off 11 players each from NCAA Division I programs across the United States.

Iowa State head coach Fred Hoiberg will coach the West squad. Hoiberg played in this game in 1995, when he was a student athlete at Iowa State.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches is headquartered in Kansas City, Mo., and was founded by longtime Kansas coach Phog Allen in 1927.



Tags: Basketball Baylor Bears Iowa State Cyclones Kansas State Wildcats Pierre Jackson Rodney McGruder Will Clyburn

comments powered by Disqus