Oklahoma State Women Win 8th Big 12 Golf Championship

The Oklahoma State women’s golf team came from behind on the final day to edge out the Baylor Lady Bears for their eighth Big 12 golf championship and first crown since 2009.

The 17th-ranked Cowgirls trailed by a stroke going into the final round and were down by two strokes during the final 18 holes, but were able to overcome the deficit thanks to four of the five OSU players finishing in the top 10 individually in the conference championship. Oklahoma State has won or finished second in the women’s championship in 12 of the 17 seasons since the Big 12 was formed.

Oklahoma State was led by Big 12 Player and Newcomer of the Year Kelsey Vines, who shot 10-over-par 226 for the 54-hole tournament. This is the third time in program history that the Cowgirls have had four golfers finish in the top 10 in the league championship. . OSU is the only school to accomplish that feat.

Baylor finished second with a team score of 907, just two shots back of Oklahoma State. host Iowa State was third and Oklahoma finished fourth.

Baylor freshman Lauren Taylor was the tournament medalist at three-under-par 213, which tied for the fourth best 54-hole score in Big 12 Championship history. Taylor is the second freshman to win the individual title and the first Baylor woman to capture the tournament’s top individual honor.

Baylor placed two of its golfers in the top 10 (Taylor and Haley Davis, fourth) as did Iowa State  (Punpaka Phunturmabamrung, second, and Cajsa Persson, tied fof fifth). Oklahoma, Texas Kansas and TCU each had one golfer finish in the top 10.

By winning the league championship, OSU secures the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals, May 9-11.

The Big 12 Men’s Golf Championship gets under way on Monday and runs for three days (54 holes) at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchison, Kan. Six ofd the nine conference shools are ranked among the top 50 teams in the nation, headed by third-ranked Texas, TCU (6) and Oklahoma State (14). Texas is the defending conference champion and seeded first in this year’s league championship.



Tags: Baylor Bears Golf Iowa State Cyclones Oklahoma State Cowgirls Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus