Three Former Big 12 Players Among 2013 College Football HOF Inductees

The 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Class includes three men who played their collegiate football at schools that are now members of the Big 12 Conference.

Jerry Gray, who played defensive back at Texas from 1982-85, former Baylor quarterback Don Trull, and Rod Shoate, who played linebacker at Oklahoma under both Chuck Fairbanks and Barry Switzer, were among the 14 inductees in this year’s Hall of Fame class selected by the National Football Foundation.

The 2013 class includes three former Heisman Trophy winners – former University of Miami quarterback Vinny Testaverde, who Oklahoma’s Switzer once called the best college quarterback he had ever seen, quarterback Danny Wuerffel from Florida and Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne – plus Tommie Frazier, a quarterback at former Big 12 school Nebraska in the mid-1990s.

The complete College Football Hall of Fame class for this year includes 12 former players and two coaches. The two coaches are Bill McCartney, who was at Colorado from 1982-94 when the Buffaloes were members of the Big Eight Conference, and Wayne Hardin, who coached 19 seasons at Navy from 1959 to 1964.

A two-time First Team All-American, Gray led Texas to four consecutive bowl games, including a victory in the 1982 Cotton Bowl and a No. 2 national ranking for that season. Gray was one of the best players in the old Southwest Conference at the time he played. He is the 15th former Longhorn to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Trull was an All-American at Baylor in 1963 and was a two-time winner of the Sammy Baugh Award for leading the country in completions in 1962 and 1963. He also led the country in passing yards and touchdowns in his senior year in 1963. Trull is the seventh Baylor Bear to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, but was the school’s first National Scholar Athlete (1963).

Oklahoma’s Shoate also was a two -time First Team All-American and was a member of the Sooner team that went undefeated at 11-0 in 1975 and won the school’s then fifth national championship. He was twice named Big Eight Defensive Player of the Year. Oklahoma only lost four games out of 34 games in the three years that Shoate played linebacker for the Sooners and was never ranked lower than No. 3 in the country. He will be the 20th player from Oklahoma to be enshrined in the College Hall of Fame.

Since the College Football Hall of Fame was established in 1951, 99 inductees have come from Big 12 schools.

The 2013 Hall of Fame class will be inducted at the National Football Foundation’s annual awards dinner on Dec. 10 in New York City.



Tags: Baylor Bears College Football Hall Of Fame Oklahoma Sooners Texas Lonbghorns

comments powered by Disqus