Six Big 12 Golf Teams Teeing Off In NCAA Regionals

Two-thirds of the Big 12 Conference will be represented at the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships that get under way on Thursday. Big 12 squads are participating at four of the six regional sites.

Heading the field from the Big 12 in this years Division I college golf  championship is Texas, this season’s Big 12 team champion and the top seed in the Fayetteville Regional (home of the University of Arkansas). The Longhorns are ranked No. 3 in the country, according to the latest Golfweek/Sagarin rankings and have the nation’s second-best player in freshman Brandon Stone. Stone was the individual medalist in this year’s Big 12 Championship.

Oklahoma State joins the Longhorns at the Fayetteville Regional, where they are seeded third. The Cowboys has appeared in 65 consecutive NCAA Men’s Golf Championships before missing last year’s championship field.

TCU, Baylor, Oklahoma and Texas Tech also are headed to NCAA golf regionals this weekend. TCU and Baylor are in the field at the Palouse Ridge Golf Club in Pullman, Wash. (home course for the Washington State Cougars). TCU, the No. 4-ranked team, is seeded No. 2 in the Pullman Regional, and Baylor is the No. 8 seed. This will be the 16th consecutive NCAA appearance for Baylor.

Oklahoma is in Tallahassee, Fla (home of the University of Florida), where the Sooners are the No. 5 seed, and Texas Tech is making its 12th straight NCAA golf appearance as the No. 7 seed at the Columbus, Ohio, Regional, hosted by Ohio State.

In addition to the six schools from the Big 12 participating in this year’s NCAA Championships, two individual Big 12 golfers are in the NCAA Championships field. Chris Gilbert of Kansas qualified for one of the individual spots. He will be playing at the Fayetteville Regional along with the teams from Texas and Oklahoma State. Iowa State’s Scott Hernandez is one of the individual participants at the Columbus Regional. Hernandez’s scoring average of 71.11 was the best in Iowa State school history.

With the addition of individual qualifiers from Kansas and Iowa State, only Kansas State among the Big 12 schools that participate in golf is not represented at the 2013 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships.

The schools with the five lowest team scores at each of regional locations, and the five individuals not on those teams with the lowest 54-hole scores, move on to the NCAA Championship finals May 28-June 2 at the Capital City Club’s Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

Tags: Baylor Bears Golf NCAA Men's Golf Championships Oklahoma Oklahoma Sooners Oklahoma State Cowboys TCU Horned Frogs Texas Longhorns Texas Tech Red Raiders

comments powered by Disqus