Thirteen From Big 12 Are Regional Tennis Award Recipients

Eleven student athletes and two Big 12 coaches earned regional awards conferred by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association for 2013.

Three freshmen tennis players – two men and one woman – were named Rookies of the Year. Axel Alvarez Llamas of Oklahoma and Julian Lenz of Baylor were named rookie award winners in the Central and Texas Regions, respectively. The female Rookie of the Year award in the Texas Region went to Texas’ Breaunna Addison. Addison was a unanimous Freshman of the Year award winner in the Big 12 for the 2013 season.

Other Big 12 ITA male award winners were Costin Paval of Oklahoma, Senior of the Year in the Central Region; TCU’s Orlando Superlano, Arthur Ashe Leadership Award in the Texas Region; and Daniel Whitehead of Texas, Senior of the Year in the Texas Region.

Women’s honors went to Malika Rose of Oklahoma State, Arthur Ashe Leadership Award in the Texas Region; Petra Niedermayerova of Kansas State, Arthur Ashe Leadership Award in the Central Region; Baylor’s Ema Birgic, Player to Watch in the Texas Region; and Jordaan Sanford of Baylor, the Cassie Leary Award for Sportsmanship in the Texas Region.

In addition to the 11 student athletes from the Big 12, TCU men’s assistant coach Mark Tjia was named the Assistant coach of the Year in the Texas Region and Todd Chapman, assistant tennis coach at Texas Tech received the same honor on the women’s side in the Texas Region.


Topics: Baylor Bears, Intercollegiate Tennis Association, Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys, TCU Horned Frogs, Tennis, Texas Longhorns, Texas Tech Red Raiders

Want more from Talking 12?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.