Oklahoma junior quarterback Blake Bell is one of the candidates on the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, which recognizes the best player in college football each season.

Big 12 Representation Plentiful On 2013 Preseason Football Awards Watch Lists

You know college football season isn’t far off when all of the individual award preseason watch lists – like for the prized Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Bednarik Award and a number of others yet to come – begin popping up, one after another, on the sports pages and and in countless sports blogs that follow and report/comment on the college football scene.

Three such award watch lists have been announced in the past couple of weeks, and there are as many 18 Big 12 players so far that have been named as preseason award candidates for the coming 2013 season.

The Maxwell Award, named after former sportswriter Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, is presented annually to the country’s top college player. Six players from the Big 12 – Oklahoma quarterback Blake Bell, TCU quarterback Casey Pachall, quarterback David Ash of Texas, and running backs Lache Seastrunk of Baylor, John Hubert of Kansas State and Charles Sims of West Virginia – are on the preseason watch list for this award, which is being presented for the 77th tine in 2013.

The Bednarik Award, now in its 19th year, recognizes college football’s top defensive player. The big 12 has seven players from five schools listed as preseason candidates for this award. TCU has two defensive players on the Bednarik watch list: defensive end Devonte Fields and cornerback Jason Verett. Others from the Big 12 in consideration for the Bednarik Award are linebacker Bryan Hager of Baylor; safety Ty Zimmerman of Kansas State; Oklahoma cornerback Aaron Colvin; defensive tackle Calvin Barnett of Oklahoma State, and defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat of Texas.

The orginal candidate list for both the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award will be pared down to a smaller group of semifinalists on Oct. 29 and then down to three finalists by Nov. 25. The winners of each award will be announced on Dec. 12.

Tags: Bednarik Award Big 12 Football Colleger Football Kansas State Wildcats Maxwell Award Oklahoma Sooners TCU Horned Frogs Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus