Oklahoma head softball coach Patty Gasso

Sooner Softball Coaches Honored As National Staff Of The Year

The Oklahoma Lady Sooners were the 2013 national champions in softball, defeating the University of Tennessee in this year’s Women’s College World Series. The National Softball Player of the Year also went to a Sooner: Pitcher Keilaini Ricketts captured the award for the second consecutive season.  The Sooners have added another national honor in softball, completing a trifecta for the 2013 season.

The National Fastpitch Association has named Oklahoma head coach Patty Gasso and her staff as the NCAA Division I National Coaching Staff of the Year for the 2013 season.

Gasso, associate head coach Melyssa Lombardi, assitant coach Tripp MacKay and director of operations Sharon Bell guided the Sooners to a 57-4 record en route to their second national championship. The Sooners als0 were the top-ranked team for the final 15 weeks of the season by the USA Today weekly coaches’ poll. The OU coaching staff also was voted the top coaching staff in the country following the team’s first national title season in 2000.

Four Sooners were named All-Americans in the 2013 season: Ricketts, first baseman Lauren Chamberlain, outfielder Brianna Turang and infielder Shelby Pendey. Both Chamberlain and Pendley will return for the 2014 season. Oklahoma led the country this season in earned run average (1.16) and runs scored per game (7.8)

Tags: Keilani Ricketts National Coaching Staff Of The Year Oklahoma Sooners Patty Gasso Softball

comments powered by Disqus