Mason Walters (No. 87), an offensive lineman for the Texas Longhorns, is one of 10 Big 12 interior lineman on the preseason watch list for the 2013 Outland Trophy, presented annually to college football's best interior lineman.

Big 12 Places 12 On Preseason Watch List For Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy is presented annually to the best interior lineman in college football. Three players from the Big 12 have won this award previously, and 10 interior lineman from the conference are in preseason consideration as candidates for the Outland Trophy in 2013.

Kansas State, Texas and Texas Tech head the list with two performers each on the Outland preseason watch list: B.J. Finney and Cornelious Lucas from Kansas State, Trey Hopkins and Mason Walters from Texas and Le’Raven Clark and Kerry Hyder of Texas Tech. Oklahoma’s Gabe Ikard, Cyril Richardson of Baylor, Calvin Barnett of Oklahoma State and Chucky Hunter of TCU are also in consideration.

Seven of the Big 12 preseason Outland Trophy candidates are offensive lineman (Finney, Lucas, Hopkins, Walters, Clark, Ikard and Richardson); the remaining three (Hyder, Barnett and Hunter) play on the defensive line.

The first player from the Big 12 to capture the honor as the best interior lineman in the country was offensive lineman Aaron Taylor of Nebraska in 1997. Oklahoma offensive lineman Jammal Brown won the award in 2004 and Ndamukong Suh, who played on defense at Nebraska, received the honor for the 2009 season.

The 2013 Outland Trophy winner will be announced on Dec. 12 on the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN .

Tags: Big 12 Football Football Kansas State Wildcats Oklahoma Sooners Oklahoma State Cowboys TCU Horned Frogs Texas Longhorns Texas Tech Red Raiders

comments powered by Disqus