Dec 01, 2012; Fort Worth, TX, USA; Oklahoma Sooners wide receiver Jalen Saunders (18) makes a catch as TCU Horned Frogs safety Sam Carter (17) defends at Amon G. Carter Stadium. Oklahoma won 24-17. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Big 12 Represented By 10 Receivers On 2013 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

If you haven’t had your fill of preseason watch lists for all the individual college football awards that are presented at the end of every season football, ostensibly to keep interest in college football high during the holiday bowl season and ahead of the big bowl games ahead in early January, you are probably well in the minority.

Officials of the Biletnikoff Award, honoring the top receiver in college football, announced their 2013 preseason watch list this week. Ten top receivers from the Big 12 are candidates for the award. The list includes two each from Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and Texas and single players from Baylor, TCU, Texas Tech and West Virginia. That is seven of the 10 teams that make up the current Big 12 structure.

From Oklahoma are wide receivers Jalen Saunders and Trey Metoyer, Tracy Moore and Josh Stewart of Oklahoma State are on the 2013 Biletnikoff Award watch list, as are Mike Davis and Jaxon Shipley of Texas.

Other Big 12 receivers who are in consideration for the award, named after former Florida State All-American and longtime Oakland Raider star Fred Biletnikoff, are Tevin Reese of Baylor, Brandon Carter of TCU, Eric Ward of Texas Tech and Jordan Thompson from West Virginia.

The Biletnikoff Award was first presented in 1994. Four time since then, a receiver from the Big 12 has won the award, most recently Justin Blackmon of Oklahoma State, who took home the award two years in a row, in 2010 and 2011. Michael Crabtree of Texas Tech also won it in back-to-back years, in 2007 and 2008.

Ten semifinalists will be announced by the Tallahassee Quartyerback Club on Nov. 18, and the candidates will be further pared on Nov. 25 to a group of finalists. The winner will  be announced on the Home Depot College Awards program on Dec. 12 on ESPN.


Tags: Big 12 Football Biletnikoff Award College Football Oklahoma Sooners Oklahoma State Cowboys Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus