Tight end Jordan Najvar of Baylor is the lone Big 12 player on the preseason watch list for the 2013 Mackey Award, which annually honors the best tight end in college football.

Big 12 Players Among Candidates For Top Center, Tight End Awards In 2013

If it seems like there is a national individual award for every position on a college football team, you’re right, there is. And in this space over the past several weeks, we’ve revealed candidates from the Big 12 that are on the preseason watch lists for the plethora of awards that make their initial splash every year around this time when the long list of players in consideration for each award is first revealed.

Two awards that we have not reported on are the Mackey Award, honoring the best tight end in college football, and the Rimington Trophy, recognizing the top center. As in all of the other individual awards, the Big 12 also has candidates on both the Mackey Award watch list as well as for the Rimington Award, which is named after former Big Eight star Dave Rimington of Nebraksa, considered by many to be one of the  best college offensive lineman  of all time.

Tight end Jordan Najvar of Baylor is the only Big 12 player on the preseason watch list for the 2013 Mackey Award. Four former Big 12 players have won this award in the past: Chase Coffman of Missouri (2008), Daniel Graham of Colorado (2001) and Nebraska’s Dominic Raiola (2000).

Three from the Big 12 are candidates for this year’s Rimington Trophy: B.J. Finney of Kansas State, Gabe Ikard of Oklahoma and Dominic Espinosa from Texas.

This will be the 14th year for the Mackey Award, which will be presented Dec. 12 during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. The Rimington Trophy will be presented on Jan. 11 in Lincoln, Neb.

Tags: Big 12 Football College Football John Mackey Award Rimington Trophy

comments powered by Disqus