Liberty Bowl in Memphis, Tenn.

Big 12 Enters Into Two New Postseason Bowl Agreements

The Big 12 and the Southeastern Conference already had agreed to two new bowl agreements that would feature teams from the two conferences arguably believed to be the two strongest in college football, and last week the Big 12 and the AutoZone Liberty Bowl announced a partnership that would make a third bowl matchup between Big 12 and SEC schools, beginning in the 2014 season.

The agreement with the Liberty Bowl is for five years, from 2014 to 2019. The Liberty Bowl will get the fourth selection of bowl-eligible Big 12 teams after the selection is completed for the new college football playoff format Big 12-SEC matchups are also set for the Sugar Bowl and the Texas Bowl, beginning next season.

Five Big 12 teams have participated in the Liberty Bowl in the holiday bowl’s 55-year history, including Iowa State in 2012.

The Big 12 has also announced an agreement with the Russell Athletic Bowl, played in Orlando, Fla., that will pair a team from the Big 12 with one from the Atlantic Coast Conference, inclusive of Notre Dame,  beginning in the 2014-15 postseason. The 2014 game will be played in the newly remodeled Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium. Construction at the stadium is expected to done in the spring and summer next year.


Tags: AutoZone Liberty Bowl Big 12 Football Russell Athletic Bowl

comments powered by Disqus