Dec 7, 2013; Waco, TX, USA; Baylor Bears quarterback Bryce Petty (14) drops back to pass against the Texas Longhorns during the second quarter at Floyd Casey Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Baylor Places Five On AP 2013 All-Big 12 First Team, 10 Overall

The Big 12 champion Baylor Bears lead the conference with five players named to the 2013 All-Big 12 Football First Team announced Monday by the Associated Press.

There are three Baylor Bears on the first-team offense (quarterback Bryce Petty, offensive lineman Cyril Richardson, wide receiver Antwan Goodley and running back lache Seastrunk) and two on defense (defensive lineman Chril McAllister and linebacker Eddie Lackey). Overall, Baylor placed 10 players on the All-Conference first and second teams on offense and defense.

Baylor QB Petty also was named Offensive Player of the Year; Texas defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat, Defensive Player of the Year; Charles Sims, running back from West Virginia, Offensive Newcomer of the Year, and Oklahoma linebacker Dominique Alexander, Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Oklahoma State and Texas eached placed four players on the first team. Kansas State and Texas Tech both had three players named to the first team.

First Team Offense

C – Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma, senior

OL – LeRaven Clark, Texas Tech, sophomore

OL – Trey Hopkins, Texas, senior

OL – Cyril Richardson, Baylor, senior

TE – Jace Amaro, TExas Tech, junior

WR – Antwan Goodley, Baylor, junior

WR – Tyler Lockett, Kansas State, junior

RB – Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, senior

RB – James Sims, Kansas, senior

QB – Bryce Petty, Baylor, junior

All-Purpose – Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

K – Anthony Fero, Texas, senior

First Team Defense

DL – Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, senior

DL – Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas, senior

DL – Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, junior

DL – Cedric Reed, Texas, junior

LB – Jeremiah George, Iowa State, senior

LB – Caleb Lavey, Oklahoma State, senior

LB – Will Smith, Texas Tech, senior

DB – Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma, senior

DB – Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State, senior

DB – Jason Verrett, TCU, senior

P – Spencer Robb, Baylor, junior





Tags: AP 2013 All-Big 12 Football Team Baylor Bears Bryce Petty Charles Sims Dominique Alexander Jackson Jeffcoat Oklahoma State Cowboys Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus