Nov 16, 2013; Arlington, TX, USA; Baylor Bears guard Cyril Richardson (68) blocks on the line of scrimmage during the game against the Texas Tech Red Raiders at AT

Big 12 Football All-BCS-Era Team: One Final Salute

When the final gun sounded at the Rose Bowl on Jan. 6, putting the stamp on the victory by undefeated national champion Florida State over Auburn, it signaled the end to the 2013 college football season aas well as the end of seven consecutive years of total dominance by the Southeastern Conference. Perhaps even more noteworthy, however, it marked the end of the much-maligned Bowl championshipship Series.

The BCS was introduced in 1998 as a selection system for determining the teams that would play in five postseasn BCS bowl games – the Rose  Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Sugar Bowl and Orange Bowl, plus the pairing of the top two teams that would play for the BCS National Championship.

It almost seemed fitting that Florida State would play in both the the first BCS Champioinip game in Jan. 1999 and the final one this month. No conference appeared more times in the BCS Championship than the SEC, which had 11 teams play in 10 national championship games in the 16 seasons the BCS format was in existence. The Big 12 also was well represented in the BCS Championship with seven appearances by three different teams (four by Oklahoma, two times by Texas and once by Nebraska). Oklahoma (2001) and Texas (2006) each won a national championship under the BCS formula.

The BCS will be replaced starting next season by a college football playoff format.

It is customary at the end of every college football season to identify a group of players designated as All-Americans and All-Conference performers.  Jake Trotter of has taken the liberty of selecting an All-Big 12 BCS Era Team, covering the time frame 1998 through 2013.

The All-Big 12 BCS Team offensive backfield, according to Trotter, consists of Vince Young of Texas  (2003-05) at quarterback, with Adrian Peterson of Oklahoma (2004-06) and Ricky Williams of Texas (1998) in the  backfield. The receiving corps is Texas Tech’s Michael Crabtree (2007-08), Justin Blackmon (2009-11) of Oklahoma State, the wide receivers, and Chase Coffman of Missouri (2005-08) the tight end.  On the offensive line are Jammal Brown of Oklahoma (2001-04) and Russell Okung of Oklahoma State (2007-09) at the tackle position and Cyril Richardson of Baylor (2010-13) and Justin Blaylock of Texas (2003-06) the two guards. The center is Dominic Raiola of Nebraska (1998-2000), and Darren Sproles of Kansas State (2001-04).

The defensive All-Big 12 BCS Era All-Stars are: Defensive ends Brian Orakpo of Texas (2005-08) and Von Miller of Texas A&M (2007-10); defensive tackles Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska (2005-09) and Tommie Harris of Oklahoma (2001-03); linebackers Derrick Johnson of Texas (2001-04) and Rocky Calmus (1998-2001) and Teddy Lehman (2000-03) of Oklahoma; cornerbacks Terence Newman of Kansas State (1999-2002) and Derrick Strait of Oklahoma (2000-03), and safeties Roy Williams of Oklahoma (1999-2001) and Michael Huff of Texas (2002-05).

On special teams, ESPN’s Trotter has placekicker Mason Crosby of Colorado (2003-06) and punter Quinn Sharp of Oklahoma State (2009-12), kick-return specialist Tavon Austin of West Virginia (2012) and punt-return specialist Ryan Broyles of Oklahoma (2008-11).

On a team basis, Oklahoma placed eight players on Jake Trotter’s Big 12 All-BCS Era Team, the most of any team in the conference. Texas was next with six followed by Oklahoma State with three.

Tags: Big 12 Football Big 12 Football All-BCE-Era Team College Football Oklahoma Sooners Oklahoma State Cowboys Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus