Jan 18, 2014; Austin, TX, USA; Iowa State Cyclones forward Melvin Ejim (3) reacts against the Texas Longhorns during the first half at the Frank Erwin Special Events Center. Texas beat Iowa State 86-76. Mandatory Credit: Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

Five Big 12 Players Make Naismith Award Midseason Cut List

Five Big 12 men’s basketball players are among the 30 players from around the country who remain on the midseason watch list for the coveted Naismith Award, presented annually to the Player of the Year in college basketball.

The players from the Big 12 who made the midseason cut list for the award are Melvin Ejim of Iowa State, the Big 12’s leading scorer this season, and teammate DeAndre Kane; Andrew Wiggins of Kansas, the country’s No. 1 recruot overall in 2013; and Marcus Smart, the Big 12 Player of the Year in 2013, and Markel Brown, both of Oklahoma State.

The five players still under consideration for the Naismith Award is the most by any conference.

Fifty college basketball players are named to the preseason watch list for the Naismith Award, and the list is reduced to 30 in February. The list will be reduced to four finalists in March. The 2014 honoree will be selected by a board of selectors vote in combination with fan voting.

The Naismith Award is sponsored by the AtlantaTipoff Club and has been awarded since the 1956-57 season.

Three former Big 12 men’s players have been recipients of the Naismith Award: T.J. Ford of Texas (2003), Kevin Durant of Texas (2007) and Blake Griffin of Oklahoma (2009).

Tags: 2014 Naimith Award Midseason Watch List. Melvin Ejim Anrew Wigins Big 12 Basketball DeAndre Kane Iowa State Cyclones Kansas Jayhawks Marcus Smart Markel Brown Oklahoma State Cowboys

comments powered by Disqus