Mar 8, 2014; Ames, IA, USA; Iowa State Cyclones forward Melvin Ejim (3) is defended by Oklahoma State Cowboys guard Marcus Smart (33) in the second half at James H. Hilton Coliseum. Iowa State beat Oklahoma State 85-81. Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

Big 12 Men's Basketball Awards Announced for 2013-14 Season

Iowa State placed two players on the 2013-14 All-Big 12 First Team, and Melvin Ejim was named the Player of the Year in the Big 12 this season.

The five members of the All-Big 12 First Team, announced by conference officials on Saturday, were Ejim and DeAndre Kane of Iowa State, Andrew Wiggins of Kansas, Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State and Juvan Staten of West Virginia.  Ejim and Kane are both seniors, Staten is a junior, Smart a sophomore and Wiggins is the lone freshman to be named to the first team.

In addition to the Player of the Year Award, Kansas freshman Joel Embiid was named Defensive Player if the Year in the conference, Kane was honored as  Newcomer of the Year, Wiggins is Freshman of the Year and Rick Barnes of Texas is Coach of the Year. Tyler Neal of Oklahoma and Phil Forte of Oklahoma State, both seniors, received the Sixth Man Award.

Ejim was second in the Big 12 in both scoring (18.2 points per game) and rebounding (8.6 per game) and third in field-goal percentage (51 percent) in the 2013-14 season. In an game in early February against TCU, Ejim scored a career-high 48 points.

The All-big 12 Second Team consisted of Kansas’ Embiid, freshman Marcus Foster of Kansas State, Buddy Hield of Oklahoma, Markel Brown of Oklahoma State and Texas’ Jonathan Holmes.

Named to the All-Defensive Team were Embiid, Isaiah Austin of Baylor, Oklahoma State’s Smart, Demarcus Holland and Cameron Ridley of Texas and Juwan Staten of West Virginia. Embiid and Smart were both unanimous selections.

2013-14 All-Big 12 Third Team

Cory Jefferson, Baylor

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Cameron Clark, Oklahoma

Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 Newcomer Team

DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Joel Embiid, Kansas

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Marcus Foster, Kansas State

Isaiah Taylor, Texas


Tags: All-Big 12Awards For 2013-14 Andrew Wiggins DeAndre Kane Iowa State Cyclones Joel Embiid Juwan Staten Kansas Jayhawks Marcus Smart Oklahoma State Cowboys Rick Barnes Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus