Mar 1, 2014; Norman, OK, USA; Oklahoma Sooners head coach Lon Kruger yells to his team in action against the Texas Longhorns at Lloyd Noble Center. Mandatory Credit: Mark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma's Lon Kruger The AP's Choice As Big 12 Coach Of The Year

Lon Kruger of Oklahoma is the Associated Press Big 12 Coach of the Year.

A day after the Big 12 coaches announced their All-Big 12 awards, the Associated Press has come out with its Big 12 basketball awards for the 2013-14 season. The AP All-Big 12 First Team is the same as the starting five announced earlier by the conference coaches: Melvin Ejim and DeAndre Kane of Iowa State, Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State, Andrew Wiggins of Kansas and West Virginia’s Juwan Staten.

The Player of the Year (Ejim), Newcomer of the Year (Kane), Freshman of the Year (Wiggins) were the same in both announcements. The All-Big 12 Second Team of Markel Brown of Oklahoma State, Joel Embiid of Kansas, Marcus Foster of Kansas State and Buddy Hield of Oklahoma was also the same. Baylor’s Cory Jefferson replaced Jonatan Holmes of Texas, however, on the AP second team.

In his third season as head coach of Oklahoma men’s basketball, Kruger guided the Sooners to a 23-8 regular-season record and second-place behind Kansas with a league mark 0f 12-6. The 2013-14 season was Kruger’s 28th as a college head coach. He also coached at Pan-American, Kansas State, Florida, Illinois and UNLV before taking the job at Oklahoma, replacing Jeff Capel. Kruger is the only NCAA Division I head coach to have taken five different schools to the NCAA Tournament. His career record as a head coach is 537-340.

Kruger was the Mountain West coach of the Year in 2008 while at UNLV and the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year in 1992 and 1994 when he was at Florida.

Tags: Associated Press 2013-14 Big 12 Coach Of The Year Lon Kruger Oklahoma Sooners

comments powered by Disqus