Big 12 NCAA Tournament Milestones: A Dozen Things To Know

The Big 12 leads all college basketball conferences this year, with seven teams participating in the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championships. Four other conferences – the Atlantic 10, Atlantic Coast, Big Ten and Pac-12 – have an even dozen teams in the Big Dance this season.g1cal8f77542sgn5

Only one other time since the Big 12 was formed in 1996 have as many as seven teams received bids to the NCAA Men’s Tournament – in 2010, when Kansas (1), Kansas State (2), Baylor (3), Texas A&M (5), Oklahoma State (7), Texas (8) and Missouri (10) went dancing. By and large,

Big 12 teams have done well in the tournament. The best year for the Big 12 in the NCAA Tournament was 2003, when six teams collectively went 14-6 and No. 1 seed Texas and two-seed Kansas advanced all the way to the Final Four and Oklahoma was among the Elite Eight.

Here are a dozen more Big 12 milestones to take note of from the conference’s participation in the NCAA Basketball Tournament:

  • The Big 12 has had a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament 10 times. Kansas has earned a No. 1 seed eight times in the 18 year-history of the Big 12, Oklahoma and Texas have been a No. 1 once each.
  • Former Kansas State guard Jacob Pullen holds the Big 12 single-game scoring record in an NCAA Tournament game, scoring 38 in 2011 against Wisconsin. Pullen also owns the third most points in a game, with 34 in 2010 vs. BYU.
  • Eight different Kansas Jayhawks have been named to Final Four All-Tournament teams: Thomas Robinson and Tyshawn Taylor in 2011, Mario Chalmers, Darrell Arthur and Brandon Rush in the Jayhawks 2008 championship year and Nick Collison, Nick Hinrich and Keith Langford in 2003.
  • Only three Big 12 champions have made it as far as the Final Four: Oklahoma lost in the national semifinals in 2002, Oklahoma State lost in the national semifinals in 2004 and Kansas won the national championship in 2008.
  • Kansas has the highest winning percentage (.719) and the most NCAA Tournament wins (41) in the Big 12 era.
  • Excluding newcomers West Virginia and TCU, Texas Tech has played in the fewest NCAA Tournament games (7 over three years).
  • Three different players hold the record for rebounds in a single NCAA Tournament game: Cole Aldrich (2009) and Drew Gooden (2002) of Kansas and Jared Homan (2005) of Iowa State, each with 20 rebounds.
  • T.J. Ford of Texas had 13 assists in a tournament game in 2003, the most by a Big 12 player. Doug Gottlieb of Oklahoma State had 12 in both 1999 and 2000 and 11 in 1999.
  • Six Big 12 teams have made 20 or more appearances all-time in the NCAA Tournament, and all six have winning tournament records: Kansas (43 appearances, 91-45), (Texas 31, 34-33), Oklahoma (28, 36-27), Kansas State (28, 33-31), Oklahoma State 26, 38-23) and West Virginia (26, 25-25).
  • Sherron Collins of Kansas had a record eight steals in a tournament game in 2009.
  • Jeff Withey (2012) and Cole Aldrich (2009) of Kansas each had 10 blocked shots in an NCAA Tournament game.
  • In 2003, both Texas and Oklahoma were No. 1 seeds in the tournament and Kansas was a No. 2 seed.



Tags: 2014 NCAA Tournament Big 12 Basketball Kansas Jayhawks Oklahoma Sooners Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus