John Smith of Oklahoma State, the 2013-14 Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year.

Oklahoma State's Smith Honored As Big 12 Wrestling Coach Of The Year

Oklahoma State head coach John Smith has been named Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year for the eighth time in the Big 12.


Smith’s team placed third in the NCAA Championships this month and were the Big 12 champions this season for the 15th time under Smith’s watch. In the 23 years he has headed the wrestling program at Oklahoma State, he has produced 28 individual national champions, 107 All-Americans and 88 conference champions. His teams have won five NCAA championships.

This year was the second year in a row that the Cowboys have finished in the top three in the team standings in the national championship, Smith’s overall record at Oklahoma State in team competition is 357-62-6.

Oklahoma State was 11-5 in 2013-14 and was a perfect 3-0 against Big 12 teams. Only four schools in the Big 12 participate in collegiate wrestling: Oklahoma State, Oklahoma, Iowa State and West Virginia. All four schools were represented in the NCAA Championships this year. Two Cowboys were crowned national champions in their weight class: Alex Dieringer (157 pounds), Chris Perry (174 pounds).

Tags: Big 12 Conference Sports Big 12 Wrestling John Smith Big 12 Wrestling Coach Of The Year Oklahoma State Cowboys Popukar

comments powered by Disqus