Three Big 12 Tennis Teams Advance In NCAA Tennis

Three Big 12 men’s tennis teams have advanced to the Elite Eight in the NCAA Tennis Championships. being staged at the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga.SCQTBVNAWZHXFWJ_20140516235612

The tournament field is down to eight teams, and the No. 2 seed Oklahoma Sooners, the sixth-seed Baylor Bears and the ninth-seeded Texas Longhorns are among them.

Big 12-champion Baylor swept Illinois 4-0 to play itself into the quarterfinals round, where the Bears will meet N0. 4 Virginia. Oklahoma advanced to the Elite Eight for the first time in school history with a similar 4-0 whitewash of 15th-seeded Kentucky. OU took the doubles point, and all six Sooners singles players won their matches. It was the second time this season that the Sooners have defeated the team from Kentucky. Oklahoma, the conference runner-up to Baylor in men’s tennis, will face No. 7 North Carolina on Sunday.

Texas also faced a team in the round of 16 that it had met and defeated earlier in the season. The Longhorns came away with a 4-1 victory over California, and next will go up against the tournament’s top seed in USC in Sunday’s quarterfinals, in which the field will be narrowed down to four teams.

The Baylor women’s team, which along with the Baylor men also won the Big 12 championship this season, were defeated in the Sweet 16 round, losing to the No. 4 seed Virginia Cavaliers. The Baylor women were the lone team from the Big 12 from that side of the bracket to advance to the round of 16.

Five men’s teams and five women’s teams from the Big 12 were entered in the NCAA Tennis Championships.



Tags: 2014 NCAA Tennis Championships Baylor Bears Oklahoma Sooners Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus