Jan 1, 2014; Glendale, AZ, USA; Baylor Bears quarterback Bryce Petty (14) against the Central Florida Knights during the Fiesta Bowl at University of Phoenix Stadium. Central Florida defeated Baylor 52-42. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Texas, Baylor Tie For Big 12 All-Sports Crown






When the Texas Longhorns lost to Vanderbilt in an elimination game Saturday in the 2014 College World Series, it brought down the curtain on the Big 12 2013-14 athletic season.

The Big 12 athletic calendar breaks down into three different seasons: fall, winter and spring. Over the course of a 10-month calendar year, 23 team championships are awarded in 16 different sports. Only six athletic activities recognize both a regular-season champion and a postseason tournament championship (soccer, football, women’s basketball, men’s basketball, men’s and women’s tennis and baseball).

Texas and Baylor each won seven overall championships. Baylor had the most regular-season titles with four (football, co-champion in women’s basketball, a shared championship in men’s tennis and an outright title in women’s tennis) to go along with three conference tournament championships (women’s basketball, men’s tennis and women’s tennis).AGUKORXMZCDLXJC_20100614212612

Most of Texas’ championships, on the other hand, fall in the postseason. The Longhorns came out on top in five postseason league championships (men’s and women’s swimming and diving, women’s indoor track and field, men’s golf and women’s outdoor track and field).

Behind Baylor and Texas, the two Oklahoma schools both garnered five Big 12 titles. Four of Oklahoma State’s titles were in postseason conference championships (men’s cross country, men’s indoor track and field, wrestling, and Equestrian). Oklahoma State’s lone regular-season titles was in baseball, the final event on the calendar.

Oklahoma captured regular-season crowns in men’s tennis (a co-championship) and softball and three more in postseason conference championships (gymnastics, women’s golf and rowing).

West Virginia was awarded three overall championships, followed by Iowa State with two.

Kansas won one title (men’s basketball), as did Texas Tech (women’s outdoor track and field) and TCU (baseball – postseason conference tournament). Kansas State was the only school in the Big 12 in 2013-14 not to win a conference title either in the regular-season or in postseason conference championships.

2013-14 Big 12 Championship Calendar

Fall Sports

Oklahoma State (men’s cross country)

Iowa State (women’s cross country)

West Virginia (soccer/regular season; soccer/conference championship)

Texas (volleyball)

Baylor (football)

Winter Sports

Texas (men’s and women’s swimming and diving)

Oklahoma State (men’s indoor track and field)

Texas (women’s indoor track and field)

Oklahoma State (wrestling)

West Virginia/Baylor (women’s basketball – regular season

Baylor (women’s basketball – postseason conference tournament)

Kansas (men’s basketball – regular season)

Iowa State (men’s basketball – postseason tournament)

Oklahoma (gymnastics)

Oklahoma State (equestrian)

Spring Sports

Baylor/Oklahoma/Texas (men’s tennis – regular season)

Baylor (men’s tennis – postseason conference tournament)

Baylor (women’s tennis – regular season and postseason tournament)

Texas (men’s golf)

Oklahoma (women’s golf)

Oklahoma (rowing)

Oklahoma (softball)

Texas Tech (men’s outdoor track and field)

Texas (women’s outdoor track and field)

Oklahoma State (baseball -regular season)

TCU (baseball – postseason conference tournament)




Tags: Baylor Bears Big 12 Sports Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus