Jan 1, 2014; Glendale, AZ, USA; Baylor Bears quarterback Bryce Petty (14) celebrates a fourth quarter touchdown with running back Shock Linwood (32) against the Central Florida Knights during the Fiesta Bowl at University of Phoenix Stadium. Central Florida defeated Baylor 52-42. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

10 Big 12 Players on Watch for Earl Campbell Award

Just when it seemed that the seemingly endless number of preseason individual national ward watch lists that saturate the sports media in the six weeks leading up to the new college football season had been exhausted, up pops another one: the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

Ten Big 12 players have been named to the 2014 preseason watch list for the Earl Campbell Award, named after the former University of Texas All-American and NFL Hall of Fame running back who grew up in Tyler, Texas.logo

Three players from Baylor, two from Kansas and one each from Oklahoma, Texas, Texas Tech, West Virginia and TCU made the 43-player watch list.

The 10 Big 12 players who were named preseason candidates for the 2014 Earl Campbell Awards are quarterback Bryce Petty, running back Shock Linwood and wide receiver Antwan Goodley, all of Baylor; running back Malcolm Brown of Texas; wide receiver Nick Harwell and tight end Jimmay Mundine of Kansas; Oklahoma quarterback Trevor Knight; West Virginia wide receiver Jordan Thompson; Texas Tech quarterback Davis Webb, Trevone Boykin, TCU quarterback/wide receiver.

Baylor’s Petty, last season’s Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and the preseason favorite of a media panel to repeat in 2014, was the inaugural winner of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award a year ago. Wide receiver Goodley was a semifinalist for the award in 2013.

Of the 43 college players from across the country on the Campbell Award watch list, 17 are wide receivers, 12 are running backs and eight are quarterbacks.





The ward recognizes the top offensive player in college football every season. In addition to statistical accomplishments on the field, the winning candidate must also exhibit seven enduring characteristics that define the award namesake – integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity – according to the administering officials.

Tags: Earl Campbell Award. Bryce Petty Popula

comments powered by Disqus