Three Big 12 Kickers Semifinalists for Lou Groza Award

Three Big 12 kickers have made the semifinalist cut for the 23rd annual Lou Groza Award recognizing the best placekicker in college football for the 2014 season.

Ben Grogan of Oklahoma State, Josh Lambert of West Virginia and Jaden Oberkrom of TCU are among 20 placekickers from around the country who are still in consideration for this year’s Lou Groza Award.

Grogan and Lambert have had outstanding seasons so far in 2014. Neither was on the preseason watch list for the award, which included four kickers out of the Big 12 (Oberkrom, Michael Hunnicutt of Oklahoma, Ryan Bustin of Texas Tech and Jack Cantele of Kansas State).

Nov 1, 2014; Morgantown, WV, USA; TCU Horned Frogs place kicker Jaden Oberkrom (33) kicks the game winning field goal as time expires in the fourth quarter against the West Virginia Mountaineers at Milan Puskar Stadium. TCU defeated West Virginia, 31-30. Mandatory Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Grogan ranks third nationally with 18 made field goals this season. Twelve of the 18 were beyond 30 yards. The sophomore kicker has accounted for 82 total points this year, which ranks him fourth in the country in that category.

West Virginia’s Lambert leads the country with 97 points off of kicks this season. he is 21 of 26 in field goal attempts, including two game-winning field goals, one of which was from 55 yards out to beat Texas Tech. Lambert has four field goals this year that have been beyond 50 yards.

Oberkrom was the hero of TCU’s win last Saturday at West Virginia, booting a 37-yard game-winning field goal as time expired. The junior has been successful on 14 of 18 field-goals tries in 2014 and is averaging a nation-best 11.3 points per game. Oberkrom also was a Groza semifinalist last season.

All three of the Big 12 kickers are natives of the state of Texas. Lambert is from Garland, and Grogan and Oberkrom are both from Arlington.

Finalist for this year’s Lou Groza Award are scheduled to be announced on Nov. 24, with the winner to be revealed on Dec. 11.