West Virginia Basketball Coach Bob Huggins Voted National Coach of the Year

West Virginia head basketball coach Bob Huggins has been named Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year for 2014-15.

Huggins led the Mountaineers to a 25-12 season record and a fourth-place tie in the Big 12 this past season, West Virginia’s third as a member of the Big 12 Conference. His West Virginia men’s team was one of two Big 12 teams that advanced to the Sweet 16 in this year’s NCAA Basketball Championship.

The West Virginia coach just completed his eighth season at his alma mater, where his teams have won 175 games. His teams have won 765 games in 33 seasons as a head coach. In addition to West Virginia, Huggins coached 15 seasons at Cincinnati and five seasons as head coach at Akron.

Huggins is 12th all-time in career wins as a head coach, and he has been named National Coach of the Year six different times.

The Jim Phelps National Coach of the Year award is presented annually and recognizes the most outstanding men’s basketball coach at the NCAA Division I level.

The namesake of the award retired in 2003 after coaching for 49 seasons. He coached his entire career at Mount St. Mary’s University and compiled an overall record of 830-524. He coached more than 1.300 games in all college divisions and his teams won 20 or more games in a season 19 times.

This is the first time that Huggins has won the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award and the first time for a coach from the Big 12. Among the 15 other finalists for this year’s Jin Phelan award are Dana Altman of Oregon, Mike Brey of Notre Dame, John Calipari of Kentucky, Tony Bennett of Virginia, Wichita State’s Greg McDermott, Bo Ryan of Wisconsin, Archie Miller of Dayton, Arizona’s Sean Miller, Jay Wright of Villanova and Mark Turgeon of Maryland.